Presidents Prize

At the weekend we had another Major with Ms Millie Webb Presidents Prize. In what was a fantastic weekend of golf the Men’s Committee and all its members would like to congratulate and thank Millie for her excellent weekend.

Coming out on top and claiming the title was a young newcomer to golf, Shane O’Gorman, scoring an excellent 40pts on Friday afternoon and following it up with a super showing in the Sunday afternoon playoff – winning it outright with an excellent 69pts. Well done Shane.

Second place was the electric Paul Kennedy with a super total of 67pts, beating the pace setter Paddy Farrell into 3rd on a count back. Leading Gross was the ever present Emmet Leahy with 37 gross points. Clinching the leading qualifier spot was Dom Spillane with a very impressive 43pts. Past Presidents winner, the in form Liam Wall with 36pts and Junior Boys winner was Kian O Reilly with a total of 60pts.

Excellent shooting by all.


Best of luck to our Purcell and Junior Cup teams in this week’s respective Area Finals.


Tuesday 8th to Thursday 10th ABP Qualifier continues.

Friday 11th to Sunday 13th is Members Sub Refund Strokeplay  – Golfer of the Year.



Ms Millie Webb Presidents Prize took centre stage last weekend. Well done to Decy and his team for having the course in top shape. The ladies committee would like to pay tribute to Mille on what was a fantastic weekend. Kathleen Alton took the spot with 40 points after 18 holes and 65 points after the playoff to secure the win. One point back in second was Michelle Keating with 37 points after 18 holes but closed the gap in the playoff making her total 64 points (CB). In third and just missing out on second on a count back was Breda R Hickey. Like Michelle, Breda finished on 37 points after 18 holes and both ladies had 27 points in the playoff.

Our best qualifier prize when to Anne Walsh with 38 points, well done Ann. The junior prize when to one of our upcoming stars Bella Healy. Finally the visitor’s prize was won by Deirdre Hayes. Well done to all our prize winners and thank you to all our competitors who turned out in great numbers.



Thursday 27th August – 9 Hole Stroke

1st Julie Connolly H/C 19  35

2nd Deirdre O’Neill H/C 19  36 (CB)


Saturday 29th and Sunday 30th August 9 Hole Stableford

1st Breda Keating H/C 20pts (CB)

2nd Joanne Quaid H/C 17 20pts (CB)

3rd Kathleen Lonergan H/C 15 18pts


Thursday 3rd September – 9 hole Stroke

1st Lisa Blackett H/C 36 Nett 32

2nd Chris Noonan H/C 23 Nett 33.5

Course Maintenance

Please Note – Monday 7th the course is closed for essential Maintenance.


A date for the diary – we will hold a Seniors Mixed Scramble on Tuesday 15th of September.

Golfers Code

Please don’t forget the Golfers Code where we can all do our bit to keep the course in great condition – make the “3 R’s” your mantra and share it with your playing partners.

R – repair (pitchmarks)

R – replace (divots)

R – rake (bunkers)