Cahir Park Golf Club Classic 

What a fantastic and successful weekend!

Brilliant sunshine,  very enjoyable golf, and a superb atmosphere.  Old acquaintances renewed; new acquaintances made.

Sincere thanks to Morrison BMW Cahir, the very generous Sponsors, who provided a spectacular display of the top range of electric BMWs to whet the appetite of all competitors.

President Paul Adamson welcomed everyone to the Clubhouse and thanked all who had played over the three days, the Classic Sponsors,  Gary Morrison,  Morrison BMW Cahir,  all the Sponsors of Tee Boxes, Course Greenkeeper Declan Walsh, and Course Team, Club Professional Paul Eivers and Claire Neligan in ProShop, Lore, Kay and Lian who provided great food and service as always.  Special thanks went to Peter McGuire,  Club Treasurer, who steered the Fundraising committee and worked tirelessly to make the Classic the successful event it was.

Captains John Hughes and Mary Lyons supported the sentiments of President Paul and congratulated all the Prize Winners.

Gary Morrison, spoke of the unique format of the Classic,  the resulting enjoyable weekend and the pleasure of sponsoring the Club Classic.

Club Classic Results:


Thomas O’Mahony (13) Paul Kennedy (8)

John Darmody (14) 105 pts


Caitlin Fitzgerald (15) Marie Keating

(28) Michelle Keating (14) 97 pts


Declan Walsh (10) Alan Walsh (23) Chris Noonan (29)

Nearest The Pin:Brendan Halpin 2cm

Longest Drive Ladies: Caitlin Fitzgerald

Longest Drive For Men: Brendan Gleeson

Following presentation of Team Prizes, the excitement continued as Team Cards were drawn for the very generous Sponsorship Prizes.

Results of Draw of All Team Cards:

1st Prize;  James Wade,  Denis Browne and Eoin O’Gorman.

2nd Prize;  P J Phelan, Seamus Moore and Tom O’Dwyer.

3rd Prize;  William Deveraux,  Sean Nugent and Paul Nugent.

Congratulations to all Team and Prize winners.

Thank you to everyone who played in the Classic.   Thank you to all the Companies,  Organisations and individuals who sponsored Tee box signs.  Thank you to Morrison BMW Cahir for fantastic support and sponsorship.

Sunday evening concluded with lively entertainment by The Pheasant Pluckers with thanks to Barry Connolly for arranging same.


On Thursday 25th May,  Ladies enjoyed a wonderful round of golf in the O’Brien Pharmacy sponsored Open 3 Ball Waltz competition.

Captain Mary Lyons thanked Dermot and Maria O’Brien, O’Brien Pharmacy Cahir,  for their very generous support each year to Ladies Club.


1st:  Lisa Blackett (32), Anne Fitzgerald (26), both Cahir Park and Joanne Fitzgerald (20), Dungarvan G.C., 85 pts

2nd:  Rosemary Lalor (35), Slievenamon G.C., Mary Comerford (28) and Norma O’Brien (21), both Cahir Park,  83 pts

3rd:  Hillary Murphy (31), Breeda Wall (38), Jean Rogers (35), all Cahir Park G.C., 81 pts.

Congratulations to all Prize winners and many thanks to all the Members and Visiting Teams who supported the very enjoyable Waltz competition.

Intermediate Team Success

Congratulations to Team Manager, Ann O’Brien and the Intermediate team Ladies, Caitlin Fitzgerald,  Susie Burke,  Joanne Quaid,  Julie Connolly and Caroline Maher on their victory at home on Saturday 27th May over West Waterford G.C.  Best wishes for the next round v. Tipperary G.C. ladies.

Upcoming Competitions

Thursday 1st June, 18 Hole V Par

Saturday/Sunday 3rd & 4th June, Bramleigh Lodge Nursing Home Summer Series,  Qualifier and 18 Hole V Par.

Monday Evening Golf 

The first Monday evening 12 Hole Scramble of this Summer was very successful and well supported.

Winning team were John Phelan,  Jo Doyle and Jake Lindy,  59pts.

Second place went to Diarmuid Healy, Carrie Healy and John Mackey,  54pts

Third team;  Thomas Quinlan,  Mary Cotter and Chris Noonan,  53pts.

The prizes were sponsored by organisers,  Susan Carey and Catherine English.

Find the Golfball

Result of find the Golfball draw, Sunday 28th May. Envelope drawn, Imelda Buckley, her number was 9. Not a winner. Imelda wins €100. Next draw, Saturday 6th June Jackpot €1020.

Mens Results

South Munster Seniors Open – Tuesday 23rd may 2023

3 Ball Champagne Scramble

Winners: Francis Mccarthy (11) Jimmy Mccarthy (21) Peter Mccarthy (28) 96pts

Second: Jim Cantwell (19) Francis Davis (22) Willie Walsh (22) 95pts

Third: John Martin (23) Michael O’Sullivan (21) Colman Murphy (17) 94 pts

Paddy Caplice Memorial Cup 18 Hole (GOY 2)

Friday 19th To Sunday 21st May 2023

Winner: Pierce Butler (12) 66 Nett(CB)

Second: Eoin Carey (9) 66 Nett(CB)

Gross: Darren Sweeney (-2) 73 Gross

Third: Frank English (18) 66 Nett

Please note the Holmpatrick Cup 4/ball qualifier will take place  2nd to 4th June.