Brian Frazer Claims Mr John Hughes Captains Prize

Mr John Hughes Captains Prize took place from Friday 4th of August until Sunday the 6th of August. Starting off with gusting winds the weather settled and it played out to be an excellent weekend. Hats off to Declan and his team for having the course in great condition. Played over 18 holes in the park followed by a 12 hole playoff on Sunday evening, Brian Frazer emerged the winner with a score of 116 2/3 nett playing off a handicap of 5. A packed clubhouse was on hand to witness Brian collecting his prize. Second place was secured by Jimmy McCarthy with a score of 119 nett playing off 19. Ian Flannery playing off +1 won the best gross with 123. Third place went to David Purtill with a score of 119 2/3 nett. A count back was needed to split 4th and 5th place with both Riobard Broderick and Keith McGuire finishing on 120 nett.

The leading qualifier was Leonard O’ Connor with an excellent 70 nett playing off 7. The past captains prize went to David Walsh while best senior and best junior prizes were won by Eugene Quirke and Danny O Dwyer respectively.

A great few days golfing was capped off by a nights entertainment in our clubhouse.


Seniors Captain’s Prize Scramble. There was a great turnout of 64 players.

Overall Winners J Barry P O’Malley G Liston E Quirke  78pts.

2) K Walsh J Conran T Kennedy S O’Duibhir 76pts ( countback)

3) D O’Reilly S Tierney J Terry V O’Neil 76pts

4) F O’Leary P Hartigan J Lonergan LRoche

Winner of the Captain’s Plate was Eugene Quirke.

Carthrach Munster Champion

Congratulations to our talented member Carthrach Leahy for securing the Munster U17 Boys championship at Macroom Golf Club! His impressive 1 under par performance led to a well-deserved victory by two shots.We couldn’t be prouder of you here at Cahir Park Golf Club


Cahir Park Ladies host Eleanor Tivy Cup

Eleanor Tivy R.I.P. was President of I.L.G.U. from 1940 to 1946.  A member of Douglas G.C., she was the first Southerner to hold the office of President of the then, Irish Ladies Golf Union.

She has been described as a patient and wise leader who steered Ladies Golf during World War 11 years when there was an understandable strain between the Northerner Districts and those South of the Border.

Munster District run the annual Cup in memory of Eleanor Tivy and this year the Final is being played at Cahir Park on Friday 18th August.

The Handicap range is 20.1 to 32 and each Club is represented by 3 golfers who go into a Draw for playing partners on the day and scores are cumulated.

Best wishes are extended to Ger Lyons,  Imelda Fitzpatrick and Rosemary Maher who represent Cahir Park in the competition.

Munster Cup

The Munster Cup is being played this year at Mitchelstown G.C. on Wednesday 16th August.

The team to represent Cahir Park is Caroline Maher,  Julie Connolly,  Caitlin Fitzgerald and the Team Subs are Kathleen Lonergan and Susie Burke.   Best wishes to all the Ladies for a very enjoyable day of golf.

Tuesday Ladies Scramble 

The last two Tuesdays have been busy and with Margaret enjoying a well deserved holiday,  Anne Walsh steered the ship very carefully .

On Tuesday 25th July,  the Winning team of the 12 Hole Scramble was Mary Kenrick,  Jo Doyle and Eithne Kelly  63pts.  Second place went to Ann O’Brien,  Millie Webb and Anne Walsh 58pts.

On Tuesday 1st August, Eleanor Carroll,  Phil O’Connor and Geraldine Cooney won with 67 pts.

Thursday 3rd August,  Ladies18 Hole Stapleford.

This  Bramleigh Lodge Nursing Home Summer Series  saw Deirdre O’Neill (18) win with 33pts beating Josie Walsh (27) also with 33pts on countback and Anne Fahy (35) third with 32pts.

Congratulations to all the Winners this week.

Lady Captain’s Prize Day 

We all look forward to Saturday 19th August and Captain Mary Lyons’ Prize Day.

Entry Sheet is in the Pro Shop. Please enter by Thursday 17th August.  Draw for playing partners will be announced on Friday 18th.

Best wishes to Captain Mary.

 Find The Golfball Draw 

The latest draw took place on the 6th of August with a jackpot of €1300. The envelope drawn was once again Josie Walsh and her number was 4. It wasn’t a winner but Josie receives  €20. The next draw will take place on the 12th of August.